Can You Reach the End of This Quiz Without Eating Gluten?

By: Bambi Turner
Image: shutterstock

About This Quiz

The number of people going gluten-free has increased dramatically in the 21st century, but do you know how to successfully go gluten-free? Know whether bagels or eggs make a better breakfast choice, or whether your favorite fast-food treats are safe to consume? Any idea which snacks you can reach for without noshing on gluten -- are pretzels, peanuts or cookies gluten-free?

For something relatively small, gluten can do a whole lot of damage. This protein found in wheat, rye and barley helps give food its shape and hold it together. It's the reason dough is so stretchy and fun to knead when baking. It's also a major health threat for people with celiac disease, who experience significant damage to the small intestine when they eat gluten. This autoimmune disease isn't completely understood, but scientists estimate that it may affect as as many as one percent of the population.

Of course, celiac disease isn't the only reason to go gluten-free. While there's still plenty more research to be done on the topic, many people eliminate gluten in an attempt to cure various health problems -- from skin rashes to weight gain. 

Yet going gluten-free isn't as simple as giving up bread. This plant protein can be found in all kinds of foods, many of which you wouldn't expect. Think you can tell a gluten-containing food from a gluten-free one? Take our quiz to find out!

Couscous looks a lot like rice, and can actually be swapped for rice in a lot of recipes. Unfortunately for celiac disease-sufferers, it's made from semolina -- or durum wheat -- a gluten-rich grain.

Beans are a superfood of sorts; they're low-fat, rich in fiber and protein, and tend to be relatively affordable. They're also naturally gluten-free, but always wash beans before cooking to reduce the risk from potential cross-contamination.

Potatoes are a starchy vegetable, not a grain, which means they are naturally free from gluten. Feel free to mash 'em, slice 'em into fries or make a steamy potato soup -- but beware of sneaky gluten added to processed taters, such as frozen hash browns.

Sourdough is a tricky food for people looking for avoid gluten. When it's made the old-fashioned way, with fermentation, the fermentation partially breaks down the gluten to make it easier to digest. Unfortunately, this process isn't enough to prevent negative health effects in celiac patients, and many commercial producers of sourdough don't use any traditional fermentation techniques at all.

Buying chicken from the butcher? Rest assured that all fresh chicken -- and all meat in general -- is naturally gluten-free. Beware of additives, marinades and seasoning in prepared dishes, however.

Love Oreo cookies? Sadly, these classic sandwich cookies are made from wheat flour, which contains gluten. Luckily for those following special diets, there are plenty of similar treats out there made without wheat to make the cookie gluten-free.

Rice is a basic staple in diets around the world, and it's also free of gluten, whether you're eating white, brown, jasmine or more exotic varieties. Beware of sushi rice, however, which may be flavored with a gluten-containing vinegar.

Rye, wheat and barley are the three biggest gluten-containing culprits in a typical diet. Rye in particular contains a gluten protein called secalin, which is a no-go for those with gluten allergies or intolerance.

Corn is naturally safe for those following a gluten-free diet. Enjoy straight off the cob to avoid cross-contamination, or read labels on canned or frozen products to ensure there are no gluten-containing additives.

Sorry chow mein fans; soy sauce often contains gluten in the form of thickeners or fermented wheat. An alternative is tamari soy sauce, which is made without wheat and contains no gluten.

Ramen noodles are a staple of every foodie on a budget, but the classic packs of noodles are made of wheat flour, and thus, full of gluten. Look for gluten-free versions made from rice flour to get your ramen fix.

Chicken eggs are totally gluten-free, so go ahead and poach, fry or scramble to your heart's content. Beware of processed products, like frozen breakfast entrees, which may contain hidden gluten.

The traditional salty pretzel is made from wheat flour, making it a no-go for those on a gluten-free diet. The good news is that many snack makers have started manufacturing gluten-free alternatives made from corn, potatoes or rice so you can still get your pretzel fix.

Got milk? This dairy delight is gluten-free and packed full of calcium and vitamin D. If you're avoiding gluten, beware of flavored versions or anything malted, as malt usually means that barley is included.

During Passover, people of the Jewish faith must swap regular bread for matzo, an unleavened cracker-like alternative. Because it's made from wheat flour, it contains gluten. Gluten-free matzo made from oats meet the requirements for Passover without the gluten.

Like most seafood, fresh fish is naturally gluten-free. Of course, diners should be careful of processed fish -- like fish sticks -- which do contain gluten in the breading.

The most popular brand of sriracha, Huy Fong, states that its rooster sauce is gluten-free. Be careful of other brands of chili sauce, however, which could include gluten in the form of distilled vinegar.

Quinoa is a pseudo-cereal that's full of protein and naturally gluten-free. Diners should still be careful with this grain however, as it's often cross-contaminated with gluten during growing, harvesting or processing.

Sorry bagel fans. This yummy breakfast treat is made from wheat flour in most cases. Look for versions labeled as gluten-free. These are typically made from tapioca, rice or potato flour rather than wheat.

Beef, like most meats, is naturally gluten-free -- and this is true even of animals that are fed grains before they are processed.

Gluten in cola? The risk comes in the caramel coloring, which can be made from barley. Coca-Cola, however, promises that all cola made by the company in North America is gluten-free.

Corn chips are made from corn, so they are typically gluten-free. Beware of tortilla chips made from flour tortillas, which will usually contain gluten.

Most veggie burgers you buy pre-made and frozen from the grocery store are made using textured vegetable protein, which often contains wheat gluten. For a meat-free burger without the gluten, make your own using beans and veggies.

Chicken soup is the perfect cold remedy -- unless you're avoiding gluten. The noodles in most soup are made from gluten-containing wheat. Look for gluten-free versions made with rice noodles for a healthy alternative.

Like most fresh fruits and veggies, apples are gluten-free. They are also an excellent source of fiber and vitamins with zero fat.

Unlike most other grains, oats are naturally gluten-free. Use caution however, as they are notorious for being cross-contaminated by other grains. Look for oats marked gluten-free to avoid accidental gluten consumption.

Sorry fry fans -- McDonald's specifically states on their website that they don't certify any product as gluten-free. The fries are made using beef flavor, which contains hydrolyzed wheat. The debate continues as to whether this wheat contains gluten, but those with celiac disease would do best to skip the fries.

Chocolate chip cookies are the ultimate comfort snack, but they contain gluten in the form of wheat flour. Those avoiding gluten can seek out alternatives made with almond flour, coconut flour or other gluten-free ingredients.

Peanuts and peanut butter are both safe for those avoiding gluten, but beware -- it's very easy for a jar of peanut butter to end up contaminated due to double-dipping a knife when making a sandwich.

Peas are naturally gluten-free like most other fruits and veggies. Watch out for packaged or seasoned peas, which may contain gluten.

They melt in your mouth, not in your hand -- and they're gluten-free! Plain and peanut M&M's are safe for those with celiac.

It's finger lickin' good, but also covered in gluten. The breading on most fried chicken is made from flour, and thus contains gluten. Make your own with almond or coconut flour to avoid the gluten.

Tomatoes are gluten-free like many other fruits and veggies. Always check ingredient lists on sauces to be sure no gluten-containing products are added for seasoning or as a thickener.

Most suds are made from malted barley or malted wheat, so they are full of gluten and off limits for those with celiac disease. Some brewers are experimenting with alternatives made from buckwheat or rice, which are often gluten-free.

Go ahead and throw another shrimp on the barbie! Shrimp, like most seafood, is totally gluten-free -- unless you add crispy breading, that is!

Go ahead and indulge! Reese's Peanut Butter Cups are totally gluten-free. The company does warn that shaped seasonal items -- think Easter egg versions of the treat -- may contain gluten.

Many people are shocked to learn that licorice is made using wheat flour. Look for gluten-free versions made from rice flour if you are avoiding gluten.

Don't even pop the top! Pringles contain wheat starch, and are not gluten-free. The good news is that many other types of potato chips are free of gluten, so read labels before you satisfy that snack craving.

Craving a nice healthy salad? No matter which variety you choose, lettuce is gluten-free.

If you're craving chocolate, a Hershey bar is the perfect gluten-free sweet treat. Both the original and almond versions -- as well as Hershey's Kisses -- are free of gluten.

About Zoo

Our goal at Zoo.com is to keep you entertained in this crazy life we all live.

We want you to look inward and explore new and interesting things about yourself. We want you to look outward and marvel at the world around you. We want you to laugh at past memories that helped shape the person you’ve become. We want to dream with you about all your future holds. Our hope is our quizzes and articles inspire you to do just that.

Life is a zoo! Embrace it on Zoo.com.

Explore More Quizzes